Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (176) - DVDs (1) - Music (21)

Letters to Juliet review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 30 August 2011 10:25 (A review of Letters to Juliet)

Simply charming, a typically ravishing movie and with every clichés that deserves. Talking that the movie is characteristically romantic and it has cliche moments might seem negative but in this case is not. The movie is so well written, the script is genial, the performances are truthful, the photography is beautiful, the soundtrack is so charming... without words. For those who likes romance it's a obrigatory movie. Probably a modern classic hence a couple years.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Amityville Horror review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 30 August 2011 10:24 (A review of The Amityville Horror)

Movie haunted mansion coolest I've ever seen, even that could be used a little more home to more herror, but it's still a movie that puts fear. I wouldn't put my feet in this house.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Brothers Grimm review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 30 August 2011 10:23 (A review of The Brothers Grimm)

For those who likes Grimms is good, for those who don't like them is a kinda boring. I think the story showed by a sensational way the fancy world of brothers Grimms.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Toy Story 3 review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 30 August 2011 10:21 (A review of Toy Story 3)

Movie really fun, which initially made us laugh. With the development, make us start to reflect about how we left aside the things that were very important in our life. And what a beautiful end, making us reflect about how might be so difficult open hands from things that were important to us, but it isn't necessary to follow ones' nose and keep with our lives. I was with eyes full of tears, laughs, reminded of things... indeed, a landmark movie in everyone's life!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Inception review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 30 August 2011 10:18 (A review of Inception)

A pretty good idea. The movie seems to present a parallel universe which tends the reality. The special effects and the characters' features are great. In a great journey through the world of dreams, this movie holds its audience in a clever plot, well planned and a great thriller. Not much to say. I just sat dumbfounded watching this movie and watching the genius of its creators. A well-chosen cast (Ellen Paige is knowing full well what movies do, surely this was a UP in her career). And that was certainly the movie that made me FINALLY going into Di Caprio. Nolan, along with Artificial Intelligence, probably my two favorite sci-fi films.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 30 August 2011 10:17 (A review of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2)

After 10 years marked by the success of Harry Potter saga, the least that those who followed the journey of the young wizard during that time could ask for was an end to match the quality and charm that the series was gaining more and more until then. And the last film that not only meets the demand in all areas, it also goes further. David Yates, being director for the fourth time in the saga, delivers to the public, fan or not, an admirable quality of outcome after having led the work with care in the previous films he directed. Proves to be a director of intelligent vision, placing each element in its quantity and the right times. In Part 1, there is a further development in the drama of the characters and their internal conflicts, and the plot to prepare the key to the end, but without having even a little in the moments of action. Now in Part 2, the fastest pace exciting and gives a greater focus to physical conflicts that the previous film, dramatic but also the emphasis needed to excite the viewer. In the plot, Voldemort got the Saille wand in order to become invincible. However, it gets weaker every piece of his soul that is destroyed by the protagonists. With his army of Death Eaters, he initiates an attack on Hogwarts, to prevent them and are able to destroy the last Horcrux. Harry, knowing his anger, struggles to find and destroy them in time, and finally have the final showdown with his nemesis. With the battle taking place in school, Yates once again follows the right, not making a final showdown full of explosions in an action whose purpose is just the visual impact, but an epic battle that although, as is the thrill of the moment truly is: a sad and gloomy. The soundtrack by Alexandre Desplat, who repeats the good work of the previous film, highlights this issue. In the technical issues, the film is not anything to duty. On the contrary. The treatment of visual effects, the aforementioned soundtrack, photography of Eduardo Serra, who also repeats his job well, the beautiful art direction and makeup too, providing a great result to the elves, and also in the epilogue, making a characterization of compelling characters. All this in a high standard of quality. The performances don't deserve any least attention. The saga has always been privileged to have an amazing cast, and now it's all about the movie where they are in the spotlight. Daniel Radcliffe has his best time and leads admirably. Rupert Grint and Emma Watson are also more than worthy of recognition. Matthew Lewis has a good time favored by a more mature Neville. Alan Rickman, but doesn't appear too long, the scene offers a spectacle of the memories of his character. Ralph Fiennes Voldemort embodies a violent rage and consumed by fear. Helena Bonham Carter is also present as Bellatrix Lestrange insane, having featured in the comic scene of the invasion of Gringotts Bank. Also noteworthy is the actress Maggie Smith, with her surprising role of Professor Minerva McGonnagall, leading the defense of Hogwarts. It is gratifying to see the set of all such work carried out with competence resulting in something so admirable, that perhaps only small by not giving proper emotion in some of the killings, where beloved characters go, and also to explain some details left out that possibly confused a bit by those who didn't read the books. That won't be very harmful, but care about those details could be higher. However, the successes speak much louder, but contribute to the deserved outcome of this phenomenon that marked the many and surely will continue checking, because even with the sad farewell, the saga is not dead, nor die in the hearts and memories of thousands.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Donnie Darko review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 30 August 2011 10:13 (A review of Donnie Darko)

A film that mixes social issues and moral concepts of quantum physics and that still has a whole intricate screenplay, full of moments that connect key elements arranged separately on the timeline of the script and doing it all quite well without holes carefully distributed equally, it is definitely a milestone. Like Lynch's recent films, these films are not just movies, they are objects of study, meaning, here you also need a second immersion in the world of Donnie to connect all the dots. In my opinion, he wasn't schizophrenic. Frank was just there to guide him in your mission. and impressive as in the end when he was receiving revelation, Frank horn trying to wake Donnie not to die in a panic. Science fiction is very well developed, combining both time travel and parallel universe. and the creepy feeling that all agreed. It's hard to understand seeing the film only once time, and it is very difficult without seeing the Director's Cut. It's totally open to interpretation, which makes the original better, but less enlightening And it is amazing how they made it look like a REALLY late '80s, photography, music, culture, everything. You don't know what had been done in 2001, certainly think it was 90s. Probably the smartest/complex movie I have ever seen, impossible to absorb everything in one view only. Many details and issues are touched gently that you can be talking about it for years. Since the high school portrayed, bullying, politics, Donnie's mental state and his low self esteem, always considering a madman and a burden for parents. His stop with the drugs portray the true situation of patients. His revolt against society/life (with the attitude of young Donnie are common these days) showing the injustice that they are, the error of people only see the surface problems and separate them between two categories: good or bad, or love and fear. relationships, platonic or not being the common fights between brothers, even loving one another. Donnie's criticism to young people have children early, is teenage life portrayed in a movie alone. is so critical that makes you think about all this on an unconscious level, then spring up as an idea of many layers, one whole. In fact, the cult theme just amazed me. The movie has a wonderful story, a story all snug by the 'erased' Richard Kelly. Whatever the issue of quantum physics or the subject matter. The climax of the movie is the great lesson of sacrifice to save a world that does not even deserve to be saved. It is not necessary or at least understand the movie to get a conclusion of what the director wanted to come to us. Donnie's story is sad and shattered. Donnie may well represent each of us. Each love we had, that there was repression in every school and every sacrifice we had to do to fix something in our lives. I know it's a cult film, and hated by many people, I guess. But I still believe I'll live long enough and I never will see a movie so important to me like that. The soundtrack is flawless, from Echo and the Bunnymen to INXS, Joy Division and through the end of the beautiful song from Tears for Fears, sung by Gary Jules. Michael Andrews was consecrated on track. As for the performances were all impeccable. Jena Malone, Jake Gyllenhaal, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Drew Barrymore and even the downtrodden Patrick Swayze was sensational in every scene. Otherwise, the Director's Cut version is satisfactory from beginning to end. Each added scene makes the movie more beautiful than it already was. It's a shame that there are people who don't liked the movie. Highly recommended. Best movie ever in my opinion, and every time I see it I love it even more and I can discover new things about it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Brokeback Mountain review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 30 August 2011 10:11 (A review of Brokeback Mountain)

If you'll watch "Brokeback Mountain" by Ang Lee and creating prejudices it's better not see it. Unlike much of what was said, Brokeback Mountain is more than a flag of the homosexual movement or a test for conservatives on duty and is definitely not a gay cowboys movie as grossly entitled by many. For starters, it's not a western movie, but one of the most beautiful stories I've ever seen. Ang Lee presents us two decades - between the 60s and 70s - which unfolds in the relationship between Ennis Del Mar (Heath Ledger) and Jack Twist (Jake Gyllenhaal). From the moment they first met, working together on the mountain, known as Brokeback to watch the sheep of a great creator of the region, through the relationship of each of the two with their wives, until the outcome of a love story that can be considered different. The photography is impressive. The mountain is very unique and brings an air of peace and tranquility to the first part of the movie. At this time we took along with Jack and Ennis discovering the feeling between the two. Anyway, the peacefulness of the setting doesn't prevent the aggression of Ennis in not accepting the new situation in his life. From the moment that the two move apart, the film becomes dark and gray. The life of Ennis without Jack and vice versa is so “cold”. Jack and Ennis together promote a glow in the film, a different kind of light that is not repeated when we have Jack and Lauren (Anne Hathaway) and Ennis and Alma (Michelle Williams). The two flee to Brokeback always seeking that peace and light that exists when the two are together, rejecting all the gray and conservative reality that surrounds the mountain. The final decision puts it in check, the window of the trailer, which gives to this world of gray, and the postcard of the mountain, an enlightened place for lovers. The psychological content around their relationship is strong. Is totally wrong who thinks that the trigger for the involvement between the two is a night of drinking around the open fire, but the sure the needs of both. When I speak of needs not only understand by sexual desire, but the loneliness and lack of affection suffered by the two characters. Ennis lost his parents, was created by brother and sister and is not far from a talented cowboy, despite claiming to have ventured into some detours. On the other hand we have Jack Twist, a frustrated cowboy, editor of bulls, some hailed the circuit, moreover, their relationship with parents seems far too much. Upon meeting, Ennis and Jack are kind of a structure to another. Brokeback is a beautiful story because it is a love story. Here it doesn't matter if we're talking man to man, woman with woman, or man and woman, the characters are the acme of human. The bias is minimized before the purity and innocence in the existing relationship of Ennis and Jack. The two are so real, even in love, that are exactly like the father or the father-in-law of Jack Twist, are conservative, they are also sexist, are selfish as well. Despite their love, to feel an inexplicable attraction for each other, they don't see the sense of their wives, they don't care about the feelings of each other, they care about their own feelings. And then it is worth highlighting the performances. Heath Ledger is fantastic and the Oscar nomination was more than deserved, but then we forget about Jake Gyllenhaal is the same disdain of his work. He doesn't surpass Ledger, but in no way can be dismissed by solidifying the character Twist. But neither overcomes Michelle Williams, the demure wife off of Ennis Del Mar, which in her world fell off like a glove for the role. Brokeback Mountain is more than the story of an impossible love, I see it more as an essay on the acceptance of something that doesn't belong to our world by two people so far and so close. There is a story about something real, but about something ideal, which could either be between a man and a woman like any other couple.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev 1... 17 18 19 20Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block